Have You Heard About the Walkaway Movement?

Four months have passed since my last post, and Christians are even more divided over politics than they were in November. Did you know there’s something called “the walkaway movement”? I didn’t until a friend told me about it recently. Apparently, some Christians are being told by their pastors to walk away from those who don’t agree with their political stance. Really?! If you follow me on Facebook, you know that I have a policy of not discussing politics there or on other social media platforms. That policy continues. But I feel the need to speak up today, so I’ll do it here on my blog. I’m sure it will generate comments both pro and con. So, comment away.

I’ve been asked, “What do you believe? Where do you stand?”
Well . . . here’s my answer.

Following the 2020 election, there were Christians who disagreed about whether the election was fair or rigged. The issue spilled into churches. I watched one church service online in which the pastor urged parishioners to put on the armor of God and stand and fight against the evil that prevails in our country today. Okay, that made sense. But the pastor went on to name specific people on the “left” whom he thought were evil. He suggested if the church prayed for them at all, it should pray that they fail. Another pastor who blogs frequently compared evangelical leaders to parents teaching their children to smoke dope. He also used names like “turkeys” and “dogs” to describe those on the left. (Explain to me, please, how this is different from Hillary’s “basket of deplorables” comment.) His posts are accusing, judging. No wonder the body of Christ is so divided! The messages from some of our Christian leaders are driving us apart. And those messages are being passed around on social media further adding to the division.

Whether or not the 2020 election was rigged is a matter of opinion, and my thoughts about that will remain personal. But if we were to disagree does that mean we should “walk away” from each other because we have different opinions? Is that what Jesus would tell us to do? I can’t predict for sure what He would say, but He was most harsh with the Pharisees who stood on street corners proclaiming their righteousness. And He was angry when He drove the merchants out of God’s house, His temple. Otherwise, Jesus welcomed sinners and talked with them (the woman at the well, for example). Jesus spoke calmly, He reasoned and He taught. I don’t recall reading in the Bible that He pointed His finger in anger accusing them of their sins. The only name calling He did was when He called the Pharisees “offspring of vipers.”

I was born and raised in Kenosha, Wisconsin. During the civil unrest there last summer, an independent journalist livestreamed on Facebook conversations on the street. Some conversations were accusatory, angry. Others were constructive. I listened as two women calmly discussed their differences. At the end of the conversation, one woman said to the other, “You’ve given me something to think about.” The other said, “You’ve given me things to think about, too.” And (COVID aside) these two strangers hugged. There was no finger pointing, no accusations. They agreed to disagree and were open to exploring each other’s ideas. I believe this is the way it should be. Jesus said, “Love one another”. Jesus said, “Why do you look at the speck of sawdust in your brother’s eye and pay no attention to the plank in your own eye?” Would He say that to us today? I don’t know. But God knows.

On the matter of calling some on the “left” evil and suggesting the church pray for them to fail:
There’s the idea that the “fruits of their labor”don’t align with Christian teaching and an assumption that these people are inherently evil because of their fruits. (Yes, I know, Matthew 7.) But—isn’t God the only One who knows their hearts? Instead of praying for these people to fail, how about praying that their relationship with God would be strengthened? Pray for God to lead them into agreement with HIM rather than into agreement with YOU.

I believe that everyone no matter how “evil” is capable, and worthy, of reconciliation and redemption. Take Saul, for instance. Persecutor of Christians. Wanted them dead. Reconciled to God on the Road to Damascus. Redeemed. God called Ananias, who was well informed of Saul’s evil ways, to baptize and care for Saul. Could God have led an angry army of believers to Saul, pointing their fingers and accusing him of his sin. Sure. But, instead, God sent Ananias to bring healing. Isn’t this what we should do? Focus on healing? Focus on leading others to reconciliation and salvation?

Without even knowing it, I guess I’ve been on the receiving end of the walkaway movement.
Someone I know questioned whether I was really a Christian because I don’t “like” or comment on right-leaning political posts on social media. I’ve been described as a “Pollyanna” because I’m hopeful. A friend told me, “You need to think more realistically. Open your eyes to what’s happening!”

My eyes are open. I stay informed. But instead of focusing my attention mostly on what’s happening in Washington, I choose to set my sight on the only true God Who is more than able, in a heartbeat, to change what’s happening in the world today. I believe God’s plans are far greater than we can comprehend. I don’t put all my faith in the predictions of modern-day prophets or rely on the “truths” offered in the media. I believe the real truth is the truth I find in scripture. When God speaks to me He speaks His truth specifically to me and about the path He wants me to take. I try not to meddle in God’s business with others. The future of our country and the world is in His hands.

Where do I stand?
• I stand for what I believe is right according to scripture. I stand in support of what I believe is right, but I don’t have to share with you how I provide that support.
• I try to view people separate from their policies and politics. I do my best to bring about unity instead of adding to the division.
• I stay hopeful. I stay positive.
• I try to live in ways pleasing to God, but, just like everyone else, I fall far short. When I mess up, God forgives me.

And while some might decide to walk away from me because I won’t stand in agreement with their ideas, God will never walk away from me. That’s what matters most to me—that I’m right with Him. So, if you need to walk away that’s fine. It’s your choice. My prayers will continue that, one day, regardless of our political views we will be reconciled with each other because we are His, not because we were on the right, the left or somewhere in between.

___________________________

If you are on Facebook, Check out my page
where I post articles and inspiration for writers.

FBcover1 _____________________________

*NOTE: Any ads appearing in this post were not put there by me nor do I endorse them. WordPress sometimes posts ads in exchange for hosting this free blog.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Share your thoughts with us.