Election 2020. Victory or Defeat?

My mother once told me, “Every morning I pray, ‘Lord, Thy will be done’ and every night I say ‘Thank You’”. She died in 1999, but I carry her words with me always.

Mom had a quiet spirit. She was an observer, and through her observations she grew strong in her faith. She understood that God’s thoughts are much greater than ours, and when he answers no to our prayers it’s because He has a greater and better plan. I’ve wondered what she would have thought of the months leading to the presidential election. She would have an opinion, certainly, about which candidate she thought should win. Still, I think she would have prayed, “Lord, Thy will be done”.

I’m like my mother, an observer. While on Facebook, in the weeks leading to the election, I was criticized for not sharing my political views on social media: Some thought I was too quiet about my politics, not active enough, not working hard enough to make America better for the future of its children. Maybe I wasn’t even “Christian” enough for not speaking up for the candidate I thought God would want America to choose. But instead of adding my opinions to the lot on social media, I had decided to do what I think my mother would have done. I read and considered what others posted, and I prayed. Like everyone else, I preferred one candidate over the other and I prayed in that regard, but I ended each prayer echoing my mother’s words, “Thy will be done.”

“Prayer is good, but action is better,” someone told me.

(I believe it’s the other way around. Action comes as a result of prayer.) Some of you reading this will say, “If we don’t act, things won’t change.” And that’s true. Christians should stand up and fight for what they believe is right; however, action comes in different forms. In First Corinthians Paul writes about the body of Christ having many parts. Some Christians act as the arms and legs, energized and interacting with others; others act as the eyes and ears, quietly observing, listening, meditating and praying. Both bring value to the body.

Acting as an observer, I saw Christians on social media taking sides, arguing over what they thought Jesus would do. I saw a photo in which a banner stretched across the side of a bus in a church parking lot: JESUS WOULD SUPPORT THE GREEN NEW DEAL. Another photo of a woman holding a sign: I TRUST IN TRUMP (AND GOD, TOO). Christians posted their political opinions, they argued, dissenting opinions were deleted or blocked, friendships broke, Christians stood divided. Election night came and went and a winner was declared. Some people cheered, others said the election was unfair. And the chaos on social media went on.

In 1 Corinthians 1:10, Paul continues, “I appeal to you, brothers and sisters, in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ, that all of you agree with one another in what you say and that there be no divisions among you, but that you be perfectly united in mind and thought.”  

The 2020 election divided the body of Christ. We became so focused, in mind and thought, on who might be President that we made him more important than the One who is King. We spoke up for our candidate, worked for him, and prayed for victory. We pled our case before God, even suggesting we knew what His Son might have done if He were here . . . . and God answered. Maybe He answered your prayers with yes, or maybe no. Maybe you are elated that Joe Biden won, feeling defeated because Donald Trump lost, or still hoping or dreading that the election will be overturned.

If my mother were alive, she might have celebrated a Biden win or been disappointed when Trump lost, but either way, she would have thanked God because whether we win or lose here on earth, everything God does results in a victory. He always wins. God acts according to His will, nothing happens apart from it—and that deserves our thanks.

We all want a better America for our children and grandchildren, but we disagree about what that America looks like. We can continue to let that divide us or we can turn to God and ask Him to heal and unite us. We are the body of Christ, children in the family of God, and Jesus said,

“A family cannot last if it is divided against itself” (Mark 3:25).

Yes, if we don’t act, things won’t change. But, the best action we can take right now is to be humble, apologize to each other for allowing our opinions and politics to divide us, and pray asking God to heal us and bring us into reconciliation with Him and each other.

“Lord, your thoughts are greater than our thoughts. Your ways our greater than our ways. Bring us together again. Guide our thoughts into alignment with Yours. Lead us according to Your will.  Forgive us when our thoughts slip from You to worldly things. Unite us as brothers and sisters in Christ. We praise You. We thank You.
Thy will be done. Amen.”

___________________________

If you are on Facebook, Check out my page
where I post articles and inspiration for writers.

FBcover1 _____________________________

*NOTE: Any ads appearing in this post were not put there by me nor do I endorse them. WordPress sometimes posts ads in exchange for hosting this free blog.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Share your thoughts with us.