Celebrating Five-Years Cancer Free!

Today I’m shouting to the world:
“I’M FIVE YEARS CANCER FREE!”

I’ve looked forward to this anniversary. With every scheduled checkup since surgery got rid of the tumor on June 14, 2010, I’ve wondered: Am I still okay. Is cancer there lurking inside me waiting to leap out somewhere unexpected? But that didn’t happen. I’ve reached the five-year milestone and now the chance of a recurrence is very slim.

I’d like to share a few thoughts with you.

I am blessed. I thank God that the cancer was caught early. It was a slow-growing, contained cancer. I needed no chemo or radiation, just quarterly checkups, then every three months, two months—and now only a regular annual exam. I am no longer a cancer patient, and I am so grateful.

There is something called “survivor’s guilt”—a feeling of guilt experienced by those who have survived a catastrophe that took the lives of others. For cancer survivors it is hard not to desire that everyone fighting cancer be blessed with renewed health. Obviously I can’t make that happen, but I CAN give back to those fighting the disease.

There are many ways to give back. I’ve connected with women on Facebook who have the same kind of cancer I had. I pray for them and encourage them. I’ve written a memoir about facing cancer with faith with the hope that it might help women with cancer. The ways that I’ve chosen to give back are quiet. I’m that sort of person. I prefer to be in the background helping one person at a time.

Today, I ask you to share in my celebration
by celebrating life
and helping someone with cancer.

Help does not have to come in the form of money. Cancer patients require many kinds of support. Maybe you know one who needs help around the house or help with transportation. Reach out. Sometimes, friends distance themselves from a cancer patient because they don’t know what to do or say. Reach out! Be that person who is always there to listen, support and encourage. Pray for people with cancer whether you know them or not. Pray for a cure. Do something in some small way to celebrate your own health! If you have never had cancer wake up every day feeling grateful.

Thank God.
You are alive. You are blessed.
Celebrate that!

 I am praying daily for these friends fighting cancer. Will you join me? Please add a comment to share the first names of other cancer patients you know so we can pray for them together.

” . . . pray for each other so God can heal you.
When a believing person prays, great things happen.”
—John 5:16 NCV

Kate and Riley (two little girls fighting brain cancer)

Kristen (a women in her 20s battling a brain tumor)

Ron (pastor at a Lutheran church)

Diana and Sharon (ovarian cancer)

 Thank you, my family and friends,
for supporting me during my illness,
and
May the Lord bless all of you with good health!

Will you do something for me? Please click on this link. It will take you to my Facebook page where you can read about my book, An Issue of Blood, Facing Uterine Cancer with Faith. I have combined my own story with important information that will help women become aware of uterine cancer and its risks.

My prayer is to get the word out to as many women as possible. You can help by “liking” the page and sharing it with your Facebook friends.


_____________________________

*NOTE: Any ads appearing in this post were not put there by me nor do I endorse them. WordPress sometimes posts ads in exchange for hosting this free blog.

2 Comments

Filed under Cancer

2 responses to “Celebrating Five-Years Cancer Free!

  1. Cecelia Lester

    Jean: Our church has a prayer list. updated twice a week. We hear of more and more people having cancer each week. One of the cancer patients in our church is an 11 year old girl with brain tumors. He face book page is:www.facebook.com/jillianmariereed?fref=ts. Anothe one is one of our neighbors who is owns a small business in our neighgo\borhood, Her name is Lisa.

    The Lord has blessed you.

Share your thoughts with us.

