It’s a Miracle!

“It’s a miracle we’re still here.” Those words echoed through Rochelle Illinois after a massive tornado hit on April 9. The black, swirling cloud ripped through Rochelle plummeting homes to rubble and sucking possessions into its vortex. It’s a miracle that no one died.

A few days later, I found a baby picture in my backyard. Scrawled on its back, in blue ink, were the words Courtney Wilms, little gal of Lori and Russ, 1984. I wondered: Could the photo possibly have been carried on the wind almost 250 miles? I decided to search for Courtney on Facebook, and I found her there in Rochelle! I sent the now 30-year-old “baby” a private message.

“Thank you for finding me.” she replied.  “It’s a miracle that we’re still here. I can’t believe you found my baby picture all the way there in Wisconsin.”

Yes, another miracle.
But, if you think about it,—it’s a miracle that any of us are here.

I’m not speaking specifically about God creating us. Instead I’m thinking of all the miracles through our families’ generations that led to us being here today. I’ve seen it in my own family.

Policemen in Seattle wearing masks made by the Red Cross, during the influenza epidemic. December 1918.

Policemen in Seattle wearing masks made by the Red Cross, during the influenza epidemic. December 1918.

“There but for the grace of God go I,” is something my dad often said. And it’s true that Dad lived by God’s grace. He was born in 1918, the year an awful flu epidemic killed 50-million people worldwide. Because of the flu, in one year the average U.S. life expectancy dropped by 12 years. It was a miracle that Dad survived.

And my mother stayed alive, too, thanks to a miracle. Eleven years before I was born, Mom nearly died giving birth to my stillborn brother.

My parents survived. And because of their miracles and God’s grace, I’m here today.

You are here by God’s grace, too.
You have your own survival story.

Dig into your history, and you will find miracles. Maybe they won’t be obvious. They might be as routine as your dad or mom coming home after serving in the military or you arriving home after a long drive on the freeway.

In a world plagued with evil, our loving Heavenly Father is with us all the time, working His miracles, moving us forward generation by generation on the heels of His grace.

Think about that this week, and thank God—

because it’s a miracle that you’re here.

____________________________

It’s a miracle that this man survived in his car near Rochelle while driving on a business trip. There but for the grace of God. . .

_____________________________

Are you on Facebook? Check out my page where I post daily articles and inspiration for writers. And while you’re there, I’d appreciate it if you’ll click on the “like” button near the top of the page. Thanks!

jan2015FB

_____________________________________________

*NOTE: Any ads appearing in this post were not put there by me nor do I endorse them. WordPress sometimes posts ads in exchange for hosting this free blog.

3 Comments

Filed under God's grace, Miracles

3 responses to “It’s a Miracle!

  1. Cecelia Lester

    Jean: This is a very interesting video. I had always heard that a tornado sounded like a train. This one sounds more like what think an avalache would sound like. Thank you for sharing this.

  2. Yes! We tend to look for Him in the grandiose, but He is that still small whisper, too. I enjoyed this post and look forward to more.

Share your thoughts with us.

