Thirty-Something Questions

Portrait of Woman Outdoors, Reading BookThere was that day in her garden when I helped my aging mother a little too much. “Stop treating me like a doddering old fool!” she said. I had no idea back then what doddering meant. I looked it up. Feeble. Senile. Mom was neither of those things, but my thirty-something self had noticed that her sixty-something hands looked old. Instead of working in her garden all day, she enjoyed resting there soaking up her surroundings and talking with God. She talked with God a lot. Doddering? No. But Mom had changed. Her youthful days of analyzing thoughts and reaching for dreams had given way to a settled, wise maturity.

I wouldn’t understand her transformation until I reached the age when others might treat me like a doddering old fool. I’m there now. I’ve become my aging mother, and I understand.

85987_30ishWhen I was in my thirties I sometimes rode the Amtrak train to Chicago. As my train sped toward the city, other trains raced past going the opposite direction. They materialized as a split-second blur of shadow and light and then they disappeared. The trains were a lot like my thirty-something thoughts. Questions and concerns raced by: Who am I? Where am I going? Who do I want to be? Why are relationships hard? Why is life tough? What if? . . .

WHAT IF!!

I understand now that all of those worries were meaningless.

An aging man named Solomon wrote The Book of Ecclesiastes. Solomon was neither doddering nor a fool. He was a wise king, and Ecclesiastes is his story about wisdom. It begins with a man pondering thirty-something questions. Nothing in his world gives him a sense of meaning or peace. But, by the end of the book the man has become transformed and settled—much the way my mother had become. He had reached the wise realization that life rushes by and that happiness does not come from worldly things. It comes from focusing on God, trusting His plan, and accepting His will.

Eccl-12Life taunts youth with temporary diversions that have no long-term meaning. In the end, they are all irrelevant.

Maybe you are still in that youthful place of learning. If so, you can’t possibly understand how wise you will become by the time your children think of you as a doddering old fool. Take a few minutes today to read Ecclesiastes. Then keep Solomon’s words in your heart. Focus on God, your Teacher. Follow Him and trust Him. You are on an amazing journey toward wisdom. Life rushes by, and you will reach your destination sooner than you think.

_____________________________

*NOTE: Any ads appearing in this post were not put there by me nor do I endorse them. WordPress sometimes posts ads in exchange for hosting this free blog.

6 Comments

Filed under Knowing God, Peace, Random Ramblings, Trust, Uncategorized, Wisdom

6 responses to “Thirty-Something Questions

  1. Cecelia Lester

    Jean: I believe we all have had those “thirty-something” questions. We all become wiser as we grow older. Hubby recently entered another decadem of life. He started doing things appropriate to that decade over a year ago. I understand his entrance there. I’m not far behind.

  2. I am there doddering right beside you! As for a fool? Well…I have always been an occasional fool, no matter my age. By now, I am just more used to it

  3. Jean, this is my first visit to your blog. I have a lot off catch-up reading to do here. Your words certainly ring true.

    I remember the very first time I thought my mom was old. She was younger than I am now! Life passes so quickly. These are the years to soak up the beauty of our world, enjoy family, and do as your wise mother did–spend time talking with God and listening to Him as well. I had a dear friend well into her 80s, who said she was enjoying nice, long talks every morning with the Lord. She said that when she met Him face to face, she wanted to hear Him say, “Welcome home ! Now, what we’re we talking about a while ago?”

    Your writing is wonderful, Jean. Wish I’d found my way here sooner!

Share your thoughts with us.

