Little Hints from Heaven

37086-blow-field-girl-gold-leaves-leavs-maple-sky-sun-sunsetHere it is, the last weekend of summer. The sky is the clearest, brightest blue, and I wonder: Does it reflect the color of Jesus’ eyes? The leaves on my birch tree have a touch of gold, more noticeable in the late-summer sunlight. Could God be giving me a brief glimpse of the golden street in the New Jerusalem?

I sit at my outside table, writing, when a wee red spider skitters across my laptop keyboard. It is so insignificant that it appears to me as a grain of red pepper, tiny enough to rest on the head of a pin. I wonder. How does this spider view the world? Surely, it can’t define what I am. Maybe, I am just a blend of colors: my gray sweatpants the “earth,” my mossy-green shirt a “forest,” and above us both that endless sea of blue. And then—who knows?

“Now we see things imperfectly, like puzzling reflections in a mirror, but [someday] we will see everything with perfect clarity.” 1 Corinthians 13:12 (NLT)

Don’t overlook these last days of summer and first days of fall. Look closely—really stop, look and soak it all in. God might be showing you little hints of heaven, a sneak preview of what is to come.carris2-58

“All that I know now is partial and incomplete, but then I will know everything completely, just as God now knows me completely.” 1 Corinthians 13:12 (NLT)

_____________________________

*NOTE: Any ads appearing in this post were not put there by me nor do I endorse them. WordPress sometimes posts ads in exchange for hosting this free blog.

Leave a comment

Filed under Autumn, God's greatness

Share your thoughts with us.

