Toms, Mollies, and Super Bowl Sunday

It was noon on Sunday when I picked up the TV remote and channel surfed hoping to find a good movie to watch before the Super Bowl game. On my way to TCM and AMC, I landed on the Hallmark Channel and it’s first ever Inaugural Kitten Bowl. That’s right. Dozens of kittens (toms and mollies), all shelter cats, fiercely competing on a pint-sized football field. The goal? To bat toys into the end zone and win the hearts of viewers.

catIt caught my interest for a while. I had no intention of watching the whole thing until I noticed my cat, Benjamin Andrew, attentively watching the game. I didn’t have the heart to change the channel. So we watched. Yes, friends, we watched the entire game, my cat and I, all three hours of it! Ben only left the room to get snacks and use his bathroom. It was a good game, lots of hair-raising action, a clawing fight to the finish.

After letting my cat watch his game all afternoon, it was my turn. I’d looked forward to an action-packed Super Bowl between the two best teams in the NFL. If you’re a football fan, then you know the rest of the story. My much-anticipated game turned out to be a three-hour, lopsided event saved only by its commercial breaks. Ben slept through the whole thing. I nodded off a few times, too.

That’s life. God doesn’t always give us what we want. Something good that we anticipate turns out to be a disappointment. Sometimes it’s a small disappointment like a bad football game. Other times, it’s a big disappointment: a break-up, a job loss, or whatever.What’s important is how we handle our disappointments. We can choose to let them get us down, or we can thank God for the many ways that He blesses us each day.

So often, we forget to notice His little blessings, those everyday things that make us happy— like a fuzzy feline companion watching the North Shore Bengals take on the Last Hope Lions.

This week, pay close attention to all the little blessings that make you smile. Dwell on them. Soak up their goodness. Thank God for them. And remember this:

“From the fullness of his grace we have all received one blessing after another.”  John 1:16 NIV

_________________________________________________
*NOTE: Any ads appearing in this post were not put there by me nor do I endorse them. WordPress sometimes posts ads in exchange for hosting this free blog.

Leave a comment

Filed under Blessings, Gratefulness, Humor, Random Ramblings, Uncategorized

Share your thoughts with us.

