A New Year and New Pajamas

2013_dont_stop_believin_pajamasWhen I was growing up, Christmas Eve always meant a new pair of flannel pajamas. My mother said that new pajamas made me look presentable for Jesus’ birthday. I looked forward to slipping into them and feeling their fresh softness against my skin. They brought me comfort and quieted my anxious anticipation. Somehow, Christmas pajamas made everything feel brand new.

I still treat myself to Christmas pajamas, but instead of wearing them on Christmas Eve, I wait until New Year’s Eve. When I put them on, I remember that there is comfort in knowing Jesus. This year when 2012 drifts into the past, I will clothe myself in fresh hope and offer a prayer that 2013 will hold less violence and a greater sense of peace.

Whatever the new year brings, we can be certain of this— God loves His children, and He is working His plan for our good. What better time than now to meditate on His words in the Book of Isaiah?

“Forget the former things;
do not dwell on the past.
See, I am doing a new thing!
Now it springs up; do you not perceive it?
I am making a way in the wilderness
and streams in the wasteland.” (43:18–19)

As the new year begins, God is with us and at work in the world. He invites us to slip into a fresh attitude of faith and hope, and in return He promises us comfort in His presence.

Whatever 2013 brings, I pray that the Lord will bless you and keep you and that He will wrap Himself around you with soft freshness, just like a new pair of Christmas pajamas.

New Year – Charlie Hall from Backporch Labs on Vimeo.

*NOTE: Any ads appearing in this post were not put there by me nor do I endorse them. WordPress sometimes posts ads in exchange for hosting this free blog.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “A New Year and New Pajamas

  1. great post, jean. enjoy the new jammies!

  2. Happy New Year to you and yours.

  3. Hi Jean –

    I like the line about a fresh attitude. We can be stuck in the past or move forward, casting all our cares on the Lord.

    Happy New Year,
    Susan 🙂

Share your thoughts with us.

