Look Up!

The Lord your God in your midst, The Mighty One, will save; He will rejoice over you with gladness, He will quiet you with His love, He will rejoice over you with singing.  Zephaniah 3:17 (NKJV)

 “Look up,” Mom said. “That’s not something you see every day.” She pointed to a big, bright “star” moving through the sky from north to south. My young brain didn’t comprehend what a satellite was, but from the excitement in my mother’s voice, I knew that Sputnik was something extraordinary—something like no one on earth had ever seen, until then.

Mom often looked up, and she reminded me to look up, too. Through the years, we looked up at a solar eclipse and stood in awe when noon became dusk, and birds and squirrels rushed to find shelter. We looked up watching the moon wash blood red on a cold December night, and we looked up at space capsules circling Earth with men inside, and then the shuttle, and then the space station. We looked up. We watched the Northern Lights together, and an eagle perched near its nest on a rock. We looked up at mountains, and clouds, and lightning. And each time we looked up, Mom’s voice, with that familiar excitement, said. “You don’t see that every day.”

On a particularly bad day, Mom held me while I cried, and she wiped away my tears. “Keep looking up,” she said. “God is always there.” And then it made sense. I knew why we had spent so much time looking up at things we don’t see every day. Mom was teaching me about God’s wonderful creations, the little miracles that we might miss while looking straight ahead at life. She was teaching me that beyond all the wonderful sights that we shared, there was something even greater—the face of God Himself. While we were looking up toward Him, He was looking down at us, watching over us, caring for us.

Are you looking up today? God is there, you know. He’s looking down at you, and He loves you.

And while you’re looking up this week, don’t miss the solar eclipse on May 20. Click here for more information. Please watch safely. Mom and I used a pinhole viewer that we made ourselves.

6 Comments

Filed under Craft Ideas, God's greatness, God's Love, Uncategorized

6 responses to “Look Up!

  1. This is wonderful, Jean! I love this reminder, thank you. God IS always there, no matter what, and is always for us.

  2. Your posts inspire me, Jean! I needed this because I’ve been much too busy looking at circumstances lately.

  3. Jean I so much enjoy reading your post, your blogs all the things you write or comment on. Everyting that you comment on or write about using Gods words and encourgement brings out Gods love and also shows the heart of God to people. I praise God for the talents he has given to you. Thank you God and thank you Jean . You truely have a heart for God.!

Share your thoughts with us.

