I’ll Have The Lobster

“And God is able to bless you abundantly, so that in all things at all times, having all that you need, you will abound in every good work.” 2 Corinthians 9:8 (NIV)

Did your high school have a Sadie Hawkins’ dance? Mine did.

Sadie Hawkins was a character in Al Capp’s classic comic strip, Li’l Abner. Poor, unattractive Sadie had trouble finding a suitor, so her pop, Hekzebiah Hawkins, gathered up all the unmarried men in town and sent Sadie running after them in a foot race. Whomever Sadie caught, and most likely dragged kicking and screaming over the finish line, had to marry her. This fictional event led to the idea of a real Sadie Hawkins’ Day, a day each year when girls asked boys to a dance.

My school’s version of a Sadie Hawkins’ dance was a classy girl ask boy event. Everyone wore formal attire, and it was customary for a couple to go to a nice restaurant for dinner before the dance. There were unwritten rules about who paid for what. Girls usually bought the dance tickets, and guys usually paid for dinner.

I asked a guy named Bill, a Sousaphone player in the marching band. He had invited me to the homecoming dance, and we’d had an okay time, so I asked him to be my Sadie Hawkins’ date. Bill readily accepted.

“Where do you want to go for dinner?” he asked.

I didn’t really care. “Surprise me,” I said.

On dance night, Bill surprised me by taking us to an expensive restaurant, a supper club on the edge of town. In the parking lot, he got out of the car first, wiped his sweaty hands on his white tuxedo jacket, and opened the passenger door. I slid out trying to keep my long, robin’s-egg-blue gown from sweeping the dirty floor of Bill’s dad’s 1966 Chevy. Then, arm in arm, we went inside where a waiter led us to our table.

“What are you going to have?” Bill asked.

I really wanted a steak, but it cost way more than I thought Bill should pay. “I think I’ll have the chopped sirloin with onion rings,” I answered. “And water.”

When Bill ordered his meal, he said, “I’ll have the lobster, with extra butter, a baked potato, a large side salad, and a large Coke. After dinner, he suggested dessert. We got crème brulee. Neither of us knew what it was, but it sounded very grown up and perfect for our formal evening. Then the check came.

“Thanks for dinner,” Bill said, wiping his buttery fingers on a white, cloth napkin. “That was great!”

My heart raced and I panicked. Then I remembered the forty dollars in my purse.

Thank God that my dad had anticipated any sort of problem and gave me plenty of cash just in case. Dad always thought ahead and provided for my needs. I had protested when he tucked two twenty-dollar bills into a small zippered pocket in my evening bag. “What’s that for?” I asked. “I don’t need all that money tonight.”

“You never know,” he said. “It’s for an emergency. Don’t lose it, and if you don’t need it, I expect you to give it back to me.”

As it turned out, I needed it! God worked through my dad that night to provide for my embarrassing situation.

Our Heavenly Father always anticipates our needs. He knows exactly the obstacles we will face in our lives, and he readily provides for us to overcome them. We do not always know how God will provide, but if we move forward with faith, we know that He will bring about the very best possible conclusion to our problems in spite of our unpreparedness.

How has God helped you with an unexpected problem?

2 Comments

Filed under Faith, God's greatness, God's provision

2 responses to “I’ll Have The Lobster

  1. Hi Jean –

    I can’t begin to tell you all the times an unexpected check, a providential job, or a tax refund arrived just in the nick of time. I’ve learned to trust Him as Jehovah Jireh, the Lord My Provider.

    Blessings,
    Susan 🙂

Share your thoughts with us.

