Free Tags For Your Easter Baskets

“I am the resurrection and the life. He who believes in me will live, even though he dies; and whoever lives and believes in me
will never die.”
John 11:25-26

My dad’s Easter basket always had York Peppermint Patties. He could eat a whole bag of them in one sitting. Mom preferred Hershey kisses, and I’m a chocolate peanut butter cup gal.

Easter candy will be a hot topic during the next two weeks. We’ll see stores advertise all kinds on sale, and newspapers and blogs will feature candy recipes and candy facts. Did you know that 76% of chocolate bunny eaters devour the ears first, or that Peeps grow when you microwave them (Don’t try this at home), or that it takes one to three weeks to make a jellybean?

I live near one of the candy capitals of the world, home of the Jelly Belly warehouse. If I want to, I can take the Jelly Belly Express with the Easter Bunny through Candy Alley and see the chorus line of dancing jellybeans! Wow. And then I can visit the Jelly Belly store and sample each of Jelly Belly’s 50 official flavors. I can choose which flavors I want to try, or I can do a blind taste test. The blind taste test reminds me of that quote from Forrest Gump, “Life is like a box of chocolates. You never know what you are going to get.”

There’s wisdom in that simple quote. We don’t know what life holds for us. Like candy, some events will be rich and sweet. Others will be sour and bitter. And if we give in to temptation and eat too much, we might make ourselves sick.

There is one sweet treat that we cannot get too much of—Jesus Christ. The Bible says, “Taste and see that the LORD is good; blessed is the one who takes refuge in him.” (Psalm 34:8 NIV) What if Jesus were advertised in stores like candy, or newspapers featured stories about His gift of salvation?

The secular trappings of Easter can be discouraging for Christians, but we always have the opportunity to turn secular Easter symbols into Christian object lessons.

Try this: Use Psalm 34:8 in or on your Easter baskets this year to remind your loved ones of Jesus’ gift of salvation. Write the verse down. Tuck it inside a plastic egg, or use the psalm as a gift tag attached to the basket. If you’re crafty, you can even make a Psalm 34:8 keepsake to nestle in with the candy.

What other ways can you think of to use the secular symbols of Easter as a way to teach others about Christ?

You may print out these free tags for your own personal use.

8 Comments

Filed under Craft Ideas, Easter

8 responses to “Free Tags For Your Easter Baskets

  1. Love it. Thank you for sharing your inspirations, as well as your tags.

  2. I bought Resurrection Eggs to use in my Children’s Church, and the kids loved them! Each colored egg has a different object inside, representing Jesus’ death, burial and resurrection–the last egg is empty. It includes a booklet with scriptures and short stories to read with each egg. I got mine at Hobby Lobby, but the bible bookstore I used to work at carried them, too.

    Thanks for the tags to copy!

  3. I LOVE that verse Jean, taste and see that the Lord is good. Best of all, we can eat all we want from the Lord and Hos Word, it is not fattening!

  4. I like your idea also. Guess what I bought today? Peeps!

  5. What color, Susan? Do you like them fresh and squishy or stale and chewy?

Share your thoughts with us.

