A Song’s Not A Song Till You Sing It

Sing to the LORD a new song; sing to the LORD, all the earth. Psalm 96:1 (NIV)

 Last week, I wrote about the profusion of similes in the Bible. This week, I’m here to tell you that there was also a whole lot o’ singin’ goin’ on. The word “sing” is mentioned 121 times in the scriptures. From Exodus through Revelation, God’s people worship Him with song.

I read a story this week about Mary Martin. If you are too young to remember her, she was a famous Broadway singer/actress in the 1950s and most well known for her stage performances in “Peter Pan” and also in Rodgers and Hammerstein’s “The Sound of Music.”

One night, Mary was preparing to go on stage in “The Sound of Music” when a stagehand gave her a note. It was from Mr. Hammerstein who had cancer and didn’t have long to live. The note was short:

“Dear Mary, A bell’s not a bell till you ring it. A song’s
 not a song till you sing it. Love in your heart is not put there to stay. Love isn’t love till you give it away.”

Mary sang from deep within her heart that night. The audience noticed. They gave her a long, standing ovation. The cast noticed, too. Backstage, they gathered around her. One of them said, “Mary, that was wonderful. I’ve never heard you sing with such emotion.” Then, Mary Martin read them the note. “Tonight,” she said. “I gave my love away.”

Singing to the Lord is one way that we give our love to Him. Jesus’ mother, Mary, sang to the Lord upon learning that she would give birth to the Messiah. Jesus and His disciples sang to the Lord when they gathered for Passover in the Upper Room. Paul and Silas sang to the Lord when they were imprisoned in chains. Ephesians 5:19 and Colossians 3:16 instruct all believers to sing to the Lord with gratitude in their hearts.

 “But, I can’t sing!

The truth is, the Lord doesn’t care if you can carry a tune or if a key is out of your range. He does care, though, that you sing from your heart. All of us, every one, can find some way to sing praises to the Lord—

“I will sing to the LORD all my life; I will sing praise to my God as long as I live.
May my meditation be pleasing to him, as I rejoice in the LORD.”
Psalm 104:33-34 (NIV)

(Friends, if you are a writer or interested in writing, please LIKE my fan page on Facebook by clicking HERE. Thank you!)

4 Comments

Filed under Praise, Song, Worship

4 responses to “A Song’s Not A Song Till You Sing It

  1. Thanks, Jean for such a timely reminder. Among my goals for 2012 are to savor time with family and friends. redeem my time better, and sing a new song for His glory.

    Have a wonderful, blessed week!

  2. Oh, Jean, I love the combination of singing and sign language in worship. It’s one of my passions.

    Thanks for sharing this.

  3. Hi, Susan. Isn’t sign singing a lovely way to praise God?

Share your thoughts with us.

